Yogyakarta State University Rector (YSU), Prof. Dr. Rochmat Wahab, M.Pd., M.A received the honor of representing Indonesia in signing the Memorandum of Understanding of China- Indonesia University Think-Tank Alliance. The Chinese representative was the President of Beijing Foreign Studies University (BSFU), Prof. Peng Long. The agenda took place in Gui Yang, China (1/8). The Minister of Research, Technology, and Higher Education (Menristekdikti) Indonesia, Prof. H. Mohamad Nasir, Ph.D., Ak. and Ministry of Education China, Prof. Chen Baosheng, were also present in the agenda.

The China-Indonesia University Think Tank Alliance (CIUTTA) was established in an effort to implement the important consensus reached by President Xi Jinping of the People’s Republic of China and President Joko Widodo of the Republic of Indonesia in the Joint Statement on Strengthening Comprehensive Strategic Partnership between the People’s Republic of China and The Republic of Indonesia and the Joint Communiqué on the China-Indonesia Vice Premier Level People-to-People and Cultural Exchange Mechanism and to create a platform for dialogues, exchanges and cooperation between Chinese and Indonesian universities and think-tanks.

Currently there are 7 universities enlisted in the CIUTTA. Those are Universitas Gadjah Mada , Yogyakarta State University and University of North Sumatra from Indonesia, and Beijing Foreign Studies University, Central China Normal University, Guangdong University of Foreign Studies, Hebei Normal University from China.

CIUTTA establishes itself as a community of Chinese and Indonesian universities and think tanks to pool sources from both countries and promote broad-based exchanges and cooperation among universities and think-tanks in areas including education, culture, science and technology, and to strengthen the people-to-people and cultural link of the China-Indonesia.

The YSU Rector and the President of BFSU held a brief audience before finally signing the MoU.

At the same occasion, YSU Rector also signed an MoU with China Scholarship Council (CSC). CSC is a non-profit organization affiliated with Ministry of Education China and is responsible for managing scholarships from Chinese government. CSC aims at promoting student exchanges and cooperation among international higher education. Furthermore, CSC also invited YSU to have partnership in education and cultural exchanges. (BFSU/ KUIK)

submitted by admin